HMI at Home began as our virtual programming initiative to keep us all connected throughout the pandemic. Now, HMI at Home is so much more than virtual events. It encompasses incredible opportunities for meaningful connection that happen online and in person in your city! From Shabbat to holidays to challah baking, the HMI community is here for you.

.

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Hungry for Love: a Tu B’Av Cooking Class w/ Jake Cohen

July 23 @ 8:30 pm - 9:30 pm EDT

Nothing says you love someone quite like a homecooked meal! Grab your partner and join HMI and food star Jake Cohen as we heat up the kitchen in celebration of the Jewish holiday of love: Tu B’av! Jake will be walking us through a few recipes from his cookbook “Jew-ish: A Cookbook: Reinvented Recipes from a Modern Mensch” and sharing how his recipes were inspired by his own family history, as well as his Persian-Iraqi husband’s culinary traditions and stories. No cooking experience necessary — just come curious, come hungry, and come reading to feel the LOVE.

Jake Cohen studied at the Culinary Institute of America, during and after which he spent time working the line at NYC institutions, DANIEL and ABC Kitchen. Eventually, Jake transitioned out of restaurants and into food media, first at SAVEUR magazine, where Jake led up recipe testing  in the publication’s test kitchen. After SAVEUR, his career led him to writing and contributing to dozens of food publications, as well as serving as the Food Editor of TastingTable.com and the food critic for Time Out New York.

Friday, July 23
8:30pm ET / 5:30pm PT

Details

Date:
July 23
Time:
8:30 pm - 9:30 pm EDT
Event Category:
View Event Website

Venue

Zoom!

Organizer

National